What’s It Werth To You?

Should I be alarmed? Building management had come by my office several time to “talk” to me. Then I got an email that I should contact building management when I was off my conference calls. Several colleagues mentioned that building people were in the halls looking for me.

Oh-kay.

Then this teaser: It had to do with a cleaning mishap. So I looked around my office and that’s when I noticed my figurine of Jayson Werth and his great dane were, well, smashed to bits.

Poor Jayson and Magnus … lots of broken limbs everywhere

I’m not sure how anyone could have broken the ceramic figure into so many pieces. It’s like they went back after the initial break to make sure it was truly smashed. Or as G notes, the cleaning person must have been a Phillies fan.

Was I sad? Sure, but hardly inconsolable.

The building, however, had other plans. The head of security came up with the building management. She had to file a report. They both insisted that they would replace my collectable. Then, they stumped me with this question:

How much do you think the piece is worth?

Um, nothing. I got in line early to a Nats game and they gave it away. It’s not “worth” anything. I didn’t pay for it, it was free. Although now that I think of it, I believe that I didn’t even go to that game – I was on vacation – but my colleague took clients to the game and gave me hers. Or maybe someone in the group didn’t want theirs. I think it was a condition of giving them the tickets, that I would get a collectable. But what is it worth? Still, really, nothing.

Jayson and Magnus back together again

That said, G went on eBay (thank goodness for eBay!) and purchased me a replacement.

So now Werth and pet are happily standing on my window sill again.

This entry was posted in Sports, Washington DC. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s It Werth To You?

  1. It’s priceless! He’s the whole reason I now like baseball. You should lawyer up and make the building pay for an autograph session with Werth in person. I, of course, would chaperone.

  2. Deborah says:

    Clearly they were taking a stand and not setting a precedent for allowing this type of behavior. It is a good thing that they took responsibility. 🙂

Leave a Reply

