Do I Miss Hockey? Yeah … And No

Are you in withdrawal? How are you handling no hockey? What do you think is going to happen with the season?

I hate to answer those questions, because in reality, I don’t miss hockey. Not really. I’ve been so busy this fall, I’m almost thankful there’s no Caps season. I know, it’s sacrilege, right? I mean, I *love* hockey and I * love* the Caps. And I was looking forward to another Winter Classic – in a sick sort of way  …

Fact: it’s been a hugely busy fall, insanely so.

Fact: the Redskins are “good” or at least exciting to watch. So yeah, Shanahan is 5-15 at Fedex Field … uck … but RGIII is exciting to watch and there’s hope … which we haven’t had in a decade, really.

Fact or more like conjecture: is this why I have more money because I’m not grabbing food at Legal’s or Graffiato and then buying beers at Verizon Center?

Sure, that may all be true, but I miss the built in occasions to get together and catch up with friends. I mean, it’s easier to say, let’s go see the Caps and bond over our team than make time to do something we both (might) enjoy.

I miss the weirdo hockey community, the fellow fans who obsess over the starting lines and whether Ovi is injured or just over the hill (answer: NOT over the hill, just in a rut).

What’s this fan to do? Carry on through the holidays and see what happens in the new year. I hope the season starts in January. If it doesn’t, I’m not sure, maybe I’ll start making dinner – or theater – plans with my friends.

In other words, NHL powers that be, settle soon before you lose the fans.

This entry was posted in Capitals, Sports, Washington DC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

