AGAINN Again

I got to AGAINN a little late – the address says New York Avenue, but it’s really on 11th.  I kinda remembered the location from last time.  We were seated at a table by the window, closer to the bar area, and it was incredibly loud.  The high ceilings and exposed pipes probably didn’t help the noise situation.  We couldn’t hear each other, and I was getting a headache so we asked to be seated somewhere quieter.  The hostess was very accommodating and moved us to the back of the dining room where it was still lively, but manageable.

After a long week, I decided on the Macallan flight – not sure I’d ever had a flight of scotches before, and while I liked (the) Macallan, I wasn’t sure I knew that much about it.  Our server brought out a lovely tray of four half ounce pours, each sitting on a liner that described the aroma, nose and finish.  I had never thought about it before, but Macallan does in fact smell like sweet toffee.

Macallan flight at AGAINN - 12 year, 15 year, 18 year and cask strength

My personal favorite was the silky 18 year pour – of course.  I can’t help if I have an expensive palate … Anyhow, I saved some for my oysters on the half shell – a nice accompaniment to their brininess. Then I ordered a full pour for my main course, the braised lamb shoulder on a flavorful white bean and kale “stew.” It was delicious and probably enough food for both of us.  But it was perfect for the brisk fall evening and a great way to welcome in the weekend.

This entry was posted in DC dining, Dining and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

