Spring Fever = New Clothes

After the long, cold and snow-filled winter, who can blame Washingtonians for their case of spring fever this past week?  A couple of sunny, 65+ days will do that for you.

It’s not quite warm enough for flip flops – although I’ve started seeing them.  And in the mornings, it’s not quite nice enough for bare legs — although many women are going that route already (including me!).  By mid-day, it’s certainly nice enough to snag a spot outdoors to eat lunch, chat with a co-worker or just enjoy the warm rays of the sun.

Spring also means new wardrobe – ditching all the blacks and grays that have become staples.   Taking the long wool coat and short down puffer to the dry cleaner.  Pulling out open-toed shoes.  And it means shopping!

Floral Sundress

I got an email from J. Crew – 20% off spring dresses.  About 10 minutes later, I had ordered a mint colored shift (mint! like I’ll be wearing that anytime soon!), a floral strapless sundress (to be worn at work with a cardigan, of course) and another sleeveless romper.  Whew, now I’ll have something to wear these still crisp in the morning Spring days!  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one.  A friend told me how she spent $500 at J. Crew buying clothes she won’t be wearing for several weeks yet.

Then there was the impromptu post-lunch jaunt into Betsy Fisher that led to a wrap top (that I can wear now with black pants, I justified) and a patterned white skirt that won’t see the light of day until mid-April or later.  Alas, we can dream, can’t we?

When can I start wearing cropped pants?  Colleague at works says after it’s been 70 degrees for 3 days in a row.  Sales woman at Betsy Fisher says “now.”

I just need a bit of color on my legs to get rid of the winter pallor – and a pedicure!

Happy spring shopping!

This entry was posted in Shopping, Washington DC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

