‘Skins Squeak By, But Opening Day A Success

It could have been worse, we could have had the 7 and the Rams the 9. Instead, the ‘Skins came out on top. It’s a win.  It wasn’t pretty, but I’ll take it.  The guy sitting next to me was calling for Collins.  The guys sitting behind us wanted Zorn fired.  I was holding my fire, until that goofy halfback option.  To paraphrase Robert Duvall in Apocolypse Now, it smelled of desperation…

And it was a beautiful day.   Perfect for football.  I think the forecast said 74 degrees, but in the sun with no clouds in the sky, it felt like a beautiful, dry 80. I even have the slightly bronzed cheeks to attest to it.

The best part? The company. When I decided to invite my high school classmate who I reconnected with on Facebook, I thought it was a good idea. A spontaneous idea, with great potential.

Dave, he’s a nice guy – or at least was when I last saw him in the late 80s … He’s a football fan.  It’ll be fun.  Then three days before the game, I totally freaked. What if Dave turned out to be an axe murderer? Isn’t that what the neighbors always say when the cops arrest a serial killer – he seemed like such a nice, quiet guy.

Turned out to be a ton of fun. They were both super nice, and big football fans. The food was great, the beer and screwdrivers were cold. And the ‘Skins even won.

‘Skins = 1-1

Facebook experiment = 1-0

Not a bad start to the season.

Now if only my fantasy football team can squeak by with a win.

This entry was posted in Facebook, Redskins, Social Networking, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

