Four Things Not to Share on FB

Seriously, make it stop.  If you’ve been tagged in the “25 Random Things About Me” note going around Facebook, you know what I’m talking about.  It’s not that I’m not a voyeur – oh, I AM! I love to read about other people …

Just stop tagging me and guilting me into sharing. Alas, MSNBC, New York Times, TIME (TIME??!!!) and Washington Post have all beaten me to it, but here’s my version.

A handful of real things (shared by people I know) that just don’t belong on Facebook:

  1. “I wish I had been closer to my father/mother/brother/sister/cousin/neighbor/dog/neighbor’s dog, but now it’s too late because they are dead.” I’m sad for you, but I’m not your support group.
  2. Major life regrets cont., i.e., “I wish I had waited longer to get married” or “I wish [insert name] would help me with the kids, but I guess I agreed it would be my job.” Save it for couples therapy – and clearly you need it. I mean, now I know about the problem, but does he?
  3. My IQ, bust size, annual salary, boyfriend’s ahem -size. Is that insecurity I hear? Or posturing? I don’t get it.
  4. “My greatest fear in life is being alone, being unloved, not living up to [insert name]’s expectations…” You get the picture here. This doesn’t make sense. If you’re so afraid, why aren’t you afraid to share? See #3.

How’s that for oversharing?!

This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Four Things Not to Share on FB

  1. Pingback: Facebook Ettiquette (Update) « AudsAnNs

Leave a Reply

